Thursday, March 16, 2023
HomeRoboticsA3 broadcasts Roberta Nelson Shea, Jeff Burnstein as Engelberger Awards winners

A3 broadcasts Roberta Nelson Shea, Jeff Burnstein as Engelberger Awards winners

Hearken to this text

Voiced by Amazon Polly
Roberta Nelson Shea and Jeff Burnstein.

From left to proper, Roberta Nelson Shea and Jeff Burnstein, winners of the 2023 Engelberger Awards. | Supply: A3

The Affiliation for Advancing Automation (A3) introduced its winners for the 2023 Joseph F. Engelberger Robotics Awards: Roberta Nelson Shea, the International Technical Compliance Officer at Common Robots, and Jeff Burnstein, President of A3. 

Each Shea and Burnstein had been unanimously chosen by the awards committee and the previous chairs of the Robotics Industries Affiliation (RIA), now A3, to win the award. 

Shea was chosen because the Software winner of the award for her work in international robotics security. Shea has been a central determine in growing industrial robotic security requirements in North America for over 45 years. She’s the convenor of the committee ISO/TC 99 WG3 (ISO/TC 184/SC2), on this position she led the introduction of ISO/TS 15066. 

This normal, which is an extension of the established ISO 10218, is the primary doc defining standardized security necessities for human-robot collaboration. 

“The Engelberger Robotics Award for Software in Security is an amazing honor to me and to all those that have embraced and contributed to robotic security,” Shea instructed A3. “I keep in mind assembly Joe Engelberger over 40 years in the past and by no means imagined receiving this award. I view the award to be honoring the trade’s progress in optimizing security and productiveness. The journey has been superb!”

Burnstein was chosen because the Management winner to honor his 4 many years of dedication in A3. Burnstein joined the affiliation in 1983 as a supervisor of selling and public relations, and have become president in 2007. He additionally serves on the Govt Board of the Worldwide Federation of Robotics (IFR). 

“Successful the Engelberger Robotics Award for Management is past any accomplishment I might have imagined after I began on the affiliation 40 years in the past,” Burnstein instructed A3. “The award has been described because the ‘Nobel Prize of Robotics’ for good cause as it’s acknowledged globally as our trade’s pinnacle of success. As an English main with no technical background in any respect, I’m dwelling proof that there’s a house for anybody within the robotics trade.”

The Engelberger awards are named after Joseph F. Engelberger who is named the founding drive behind industrial robotics. The awards began in 1977, and since then there have been 136 recipients from world wide for excellence in expertise growth, software, schooling and management. 

Winners are really helpful by a panel of trade leaders primarily based on all current and previous nominations from the trade. They’re then voted on by previous chairs of the RIA. A3 administers the award and every winner receives a $5,000 honorarium and a commemorative medallion.

Marc Raibert, a 2022 Engelberger award winner, will likely be keynoting the Robotics Summit & Expo in Boston on Might 10-11. In his fireplace chat “The Subsequent Decade in Robotics” Raibert will focus on alternatives for the robotics trade and an important and tough challenges going through the creation of superior robotics. 



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments